#17 – A Room With a View by E.M. Forster

This book was a re-read, something I first read in high school. But unlike some other things I read in high school (ewwwww) it’s held up remarkably well.

I wanted to include A Room with a View because, basically, Forster’s prose is the best prose ever. Every sentence belongs. The paragraphs are so well-crafted, they give you a feeling of rosy well-being. I love his other novels that I’ve read, and Aspects of the Novel (again, great prose), but this is the snuggliest.

Extra credit:

So. much. hair.

The Merchant-Ivory movie with Helena Bonham Carter, Judi Dench, and Maggie Smith, of course. This is not an either/or book & movie situation, but a both/and.

This entry was posted in fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #17 – A Room With a View by E.M. Forster

  1. Andrew says:

    Hmm. Maybe I’ll make this the next old book that I read. I gotta get me some of the best prose ever.

  2. Hannah N says:

    My other thought regarding the best prose ever is that some of the best prose ever was being written in the first half of the twentieth century. My secret theory about why evangelicals like C.S. Lewis so much is not because they actually agree with his ideas but because he’s like the only really, really good prose writer they’ve ever read and so he’s extra-convincing.

  3. Hannah N says:

    And just so we’re clear, I like C.S. Lewis too. No hating from my corner.

What do you think?

