#20 – Wild Iris by Louise Gluck

Poetry time!

Attending an MFA program in creative writing was a little like going to poetry camp for three years. It was amazing. I loved it. And sometimes it seems like poetryland a completely different world divorced from the one I live in now.

For instance, in poetryland, I felt a bit self-conscious about liking Wild Iris so much. I don’t love all of Louise Gluck’s poems. And she has a reputation among some of the poetry people I know for not being friendly or something…I don’t know. Actually now I can’t remember why I felt embarrassed about liking this book. I have no idea. It’s good.

Wild Iris is an amazing wild and weird book. Among the different poems emerges a sort of conversation between the soul, assorted plant life, and the divine. Here’s a link to one of the plant poems, “Trillium.”

And if that doesn’t convince you to give it a try, maybe the shiny Pulitzer prize sticker on the cover will?

This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

